Photo by Laura Roberts/Invision/AP

No pictures. No videos. This was for me.
For two hours, Midnight Oil played like they
were on a mission to show the world yet again
why they are the hardest working band out there.

At sixty-four, frontman Peter Garrett was no different
than the last time I saw him live.. when he was around
the age of thirty-six.

For me, who went alone, I could only just stand there
with a a smile firmly planted upon my face song after
song after song.

Other than U2, no band have I followed as closely over
the years. For me, I have a lot of myself invested in the
songs this band constantly churned out over the years.

For me, the bass player, I think there is no band that has
inspired my own unique style of playing than Midnight Oil.

For me, the activist, I think both U2 and the Oils have
led me to a place where I began to think past that which
I was told, and then act on behalf of those which I have seen.

But mostly, for me, as a lone concert attendee, I just sat
there in awe and wonder. From the moment they walked
out onto the stage and played Redneck Wonderland, I
had to laugh. I had to laugh the kind of laugh that wasn’t
in response to something that was funny, but rather
instead in response to something that felt so good that
laughing was all I could do.

These guys were indeed on a mission, and it rocked hard.

Funny, after the first song or two, Peter actually told the
crowd with a smile, to put down there phones and listen.
I am glad I did.

It makes me think of their song Put Down That Weapon.
But I digress.

But for as long as I can remember, these guys seemed
to know what they believed and then, consistently, seemed
to in-turn, lived what they believed.

I think when we live in such a way, we never have to say
a word. Our actions and our songs already have.

And this makes me think. Am I?

I think that was part of the magic on Monday night.
Certainly the room was filled with a sold out crowd who
loved Midnight Oil. But I would argue, based on the
volume of each word of each song that the crowd
belted out throughout the show that something else was
also present this night, too.

RESPECT.

Their actions have earned them the right to be heard.
And in this day and age, that’s a lost art.

But it sure makes great songs.

