“God’s got you, bro.”

It had been a busy rush at the Chevron station as seemingly every car in town all arrived at once. Directing each one, I watched the attendant through my windshield as he told the other attendants that he wanted to make sure they were stacking the cars up so they could maximize the use of space.

It was a teaching moment for the team and this guy just seemed to have it all under control.

It really was quite genius watching him direct traffic as such. It seemed like it was just yesterday when he had first started and seemed so overwhelmed.

If you recall, I was his second or third customer. (Read about that experience here: bit.ly/2v8JBQD)

It was during that first shift of his that I had felt led to look him straight in the eye amidst his being completely overwhelmed and told him he would do fine and he would be a pro at this in no time. And then words flowed from my mouth that I didn’t expect.

I told him he was a good man.

You would have thought the world stopped at that very moment. The look he gave me I will never forget. The weight of a thousand lifetimes and the stress of that moment seemed to fade away right before my very eyes.

Nearly two years later, he told me that he was homeless when he first got the job.

When I had left that day, I told him I would see him soon, rolled up my window, and drove off. Tears had filled my eyes. I prayed right then and right there that Chevron would give him a chance and that he would make the cut. He just looked like he needed to catch a break and get that chance.

Fast forward a couple years and here we were again today, at Chevron, as Matt pumped my gas. This time though, it was me who was needing the cheerleading. Well if I am being honest, I needed a lot of cheerleading.

Asking me how things were, he looked right into my eyes as he quickly walked past my car. I responded in all honesty with, “Not so good.” I didn’t even hesitate.

And then it happened. Matt looked straight at me and said four words that stopped me in my tracks.

“God’s got you, bro.”

With all those cars stacked up, he didn’t even miss a beat.

You would have thought the world stopped at that very moment. The look he gave me I will never forget. The weight of a thousand lifetimes and the stress of that moment seemed to fade away right before my very eyes.

Thanks Matt. I needed to hear that. I think from time to time, we all do.

I know I did.

